Ethnic Studies at UC Berkeley: Fifty years of Igniting the Future

Poster for 50th celebration for Ethnic Studies Thu, March 05, 2020, 4:00 pm to Fri, March 06, 2020, 8:00 pm

Location: Alumni House

Dates and times:

March 5th, from 4pm – 8pm

March 6th, from 8am -8pm 

A two-day symposium to share, spark, and inspire visions for the future. For 50 years, Ethnic Studies at Berkeley has been at the forefront of transforming knowledge, empowering communities, and advancing social justice. On March 5th and 6th, 2020, we will commemorate the legacies that have shaped the field, celebrate our many accomplishments, and ignite possibilities for generations to come.

Ethnic Studies at UC Berkeley: 50 Years of Igniting the Future

Alumni House, UC Berkeley


Thursday, March 5th, 2020

Opening Remarks & Welcome

Co-Conveners of the 50th Anniversary Symposium Laura E. Pérez and Lok Siu
Chair Juana María Rodríguez 
Chancellor Carol Christ
Chair of the Board of UC Regents John A. Pérez


Visions: How Did It All Start? Reflections from Founders of the Department

Panel Co-Chairs Michael Omi and Christian Paíz
Carlos Múñoz, Jr
Ling-chi Wang
LaNada War Jack



Excerpt from film, On Strike! Ethnic Studies, 1969-1999 film, Irum Shiekh
Honoring Emeriti Faculty and founders of Ethnic Studies 
 Juana María Rodríguez and Harvey Dong


Poetry and Prose
Introductions by Ethnic Studies Graduate Students

Andrew Saito (BA, Ethnic Studies, 2002), Elias Serna (BA, Ethnic Studies, 1990), Esther G. Belin (BA, Native American Studies, 1992), Irene Tu (BA, Asian American and Diaspora Studies, 2014), Jackie Keliiaa (BA, Ethnic Studies, 2007), Joseph Ríos (BA, English)


Schedule of Events
Friday, March 6th, 2020


Coffee and assorted baked goods


Opening Remarks & Welcome

Land Acknowledgement by Corrina Gould, Chochenyo and Karkin Ohlone,
Spokesperson for the Confederated Villages of Lisjan/Ohlone
 Chair of the Department of Ethnic Studies Juana María Rodríguez
Dean of Social Sciences Raka Ray


Social Performativity & Visual Culture

Panel Chair Raúl Coronado 
Arturo J. Aldama (via skype) – PhD, 1996
Ariko Ikehara – PhD, 2016
Amy Lonetree – PhD, 2002
Isabelle Pelaud – PhD, 1998


Decolonial Spiritualities & Philosophies

Panel Co-Chairs Ramón Grosfoguel and Carolyn Chen
Rudy Busto – PhD, 1991
Sylvia Chan-Malik – PhD, 2009
Irene Lara – PhD, 2003
Gabriela Spears-Rico – PhD 2015
Daphne V. Taylor-García – PhD, 2008


Gender, Militarism, Labor, Violence

Chaired by Khatharya Um 

Jasbir Puar (via Skype) – PhD, 1999

Annie Isabel Fukushima – PhD, 2012
Vernadette Gonzalez – PhD, 2004
Juan Herrera – PhD, 2013
Fuifuilupe Niumeitolu – PhD, 2019


Lunch at the Multi-Cultural Center


Prison Industrial Complex & Governmentality

Panel Introduced by Michael Omi
Chaired by Thomas Biolsi 
Marisa Belausteguigoitia – PhD, 2000
Olivia Chilcote – PhD, 2017
Roberto Hernández – PhD, 2010
Victor M. Ríos – PhD, 2005
Dylan Rodríguez – PhD, 2001


Women of Color Feminisms and Queer Futures 

Panel Chair Juana María Rodríguez – PhD, 1998
Grace Chang – PhD, 2000
Dory Nason – PhD, 2008
Celine Parreñas Shimizu – BA, 1992
Birgit Brander Rasmussen (via Skype) – PhD, 2003


Popular Culture, Music, and Social Media 

Panel Chair Keith Feldman 
Josh Kun – PhD, 1998
Oliver Wang – PhD, 2008
Catherine S. Ramírez – PhD, 2000
Margaret Rhee – PhD, 2008
Caroline A. Streeter – PhD, 2000


Closing Remarks

Chair Juana María Rodríguez



 Musical Guests Marcelo Felipe Garzo Montalvo, PhD 2020 & Ocea Savage