Department News

Department News

Ethnic Studies Alumna Harriett Skye Honored by North Dakota Native American Hall of Honor

June 17, 2016

Ethnic Studies Ph.D. Alumna Harriett Skye ('07) was recently honored as one of the first inductees into the North Dakota Native American Hall of Honor. The department would like to congratulate Harriett for this very deserving honor! 


June 3, 2016

Honorees Selected for New Native American Hall of Honor

BISMARCK—The North Dakota Native American Hall of Honor committee, comprised of tribal representatives from each of the five federally recognized tribes of North Dakota, has selected the first seven recipients to be recognized in the North Dakota Native American Hall of Honor.

Located in the North Dakota Heritage Center & State Museum in Bismarck, the Native American Hall of Honor will feature a new annual program recognizing Native Americans who have gone above and beyond in representing their tribe and culture. The program is a partnership of the North Dakota Indian Affairs Commission, the State Historical Society of North Dakota, and the State Historical Society Foundation. 

The program recognizes traditional and contemporary achievements in four categories. Nominees can be living or in memoriam. The first inductees will include:

Robert Eaglestaff, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe – Sports/Athletics
Arnold Charging, Mandan Hidatsa Arikara Nation – Sports/Athletics
Anthony McDonald, Spirit Lake Nation – Culture/Arts
Nathan Good Iron, Mandan Hidatsa Arikara Nation-Standing Rock Sioux Tribe – Veteran/Military
Richard Marcellias, Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa – Veteran/Military
Harriett Skye, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe – Leadership
Marcellus Red Tomahawk, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe – Leadership
The induction ceremony will be on Tuesday, Sept. 6, 2016 as part of the Tribal Leadership Summit and United Tribes International Powwow. Information and objects relating to each inductee will be featured in an annual exhibit at the State Museum.

For more information, view or call the ND Indian Affairs Commission, 701.328.2428.